Common Success Feature

There was this briefing I went through once I received my scholarship offer last few years, which reminded me of one very common feature amongst all the PhD success stories they highlighted during the briefing – a majority of them seem to keep to a very strict work schedule. Although their hours might be flexible, but they all stick to basically the same practice – you have to be at work, in a work environment and hopefully thus, supposedly work! Although, what defined a ‘work environment’ depends on what available resources they had, but still they had schedules and tried as much as possible to follow them. 

Some might work from to 9-5, others might be stuck with their children’s schooling hours. Some work a straight 5 days a week, some even 7 days or 8 ;-). But it is a common feature that must be taken seriously. It is a reminder that enrolled in a Phd is definitely not a paid holiday leave from your initial workload! It’s a totally different kind of work altogether. But it’s work, nevertheless. 

So I kept telling myself that this practice must be adopted, religiously, especially now that I am left with the last few months of my study leave. Although, my schedule had changed in patterns throughout the years, but I have strived to keep to a schedule. On days I missed the morning shifts, I would cover them with evening ones. I always take days like Fridays off, but really loved covering any missed weekdays on weekends because they would be ‘peace’ at the office and I am not restricted to the children’s school schedule. Even with such schedule, many things can go wrong and had gone wrong for me. Health, weather conditions, waiting for third party-interventions are amongst some of the factors that had affected the smooth sailing of my schedule. It’s a real wonder how DH had to keep up with me all this while. Yes! I admit I took him being here for granted, most of the time. But if having such a schedule helps, then I’m sticking to it.  I promised myself I am going to finish this and make it up to him, soon…Insya Allah 🙂

As for now…    

“Ain’t nothing gonna break my stride
Nobody’s gonna slow me down
Oh no, I’ve got to keep on moving
Ain’t nothing gonna break my stride
I’m running and I won’t touch ground
Oh no, I’ve got to keep on moving”

This entry was posted in My Expression, PhD. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

