Getting Unstuck ‘Audioly’

I finally find writing about Australia’s family law system too much. So I decided to stop! I thought writing about Malaysia was difficult, well, it turns out writing about another country’s family legal system is even worst. I figured the time has come to embark on writing my discussion chapter, instead. I will sit on Australia figuratively until I finish my discussion chapter. Babai Australia, till we meet again, soon.

My supervisor once mentioned that the Discussion chapter ought to be a fun one to write – well at least for him. For me, I am still struggling to find a framework for the whole content. Every night I slept (and waking up) thinking about it. Wondering how do I pull 60 over pages of findings into one coherent discussion chapter and actually make sense. la..la..la..la..la..la..la..la…

Anyway, I look here and there and found some good tips. Especially on starting writing in the middle and also to write as fast as you can, not as well as you can. These tips actually help me in making writing progress faster. I just write…write…write…although sometimes I may not make sense. Later, as suggested I will let it rest and come back to ‘beautify’ it.

One more very good tool I found is to actually sleep with my recorder nearby nowadays. It’s funny that near to my bed time, I always have some ideas that always failed to surface during my work time. So when I have something new, I will reach for the recorder/phone and record them. Sometimes, it goes on for while, until Uwais will say ‘Mama, stop talking, lama sangat dah tu” ha..ha..ha.. But the next day, when I transcribe the audio, I would fine myself being suprised at some of the points I highlighted the night before. If I had waited until the next day, most of the ideas would have been gone. So I think, any audio recording equipment is a must for writing ideas – well, at least for me.

Happy Writing! 

This entry was posted in Log, PhD, Research Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Getting Unstuck ‘Audioly’

  1. Guia says:

    Hello Nor,

    I just read a few of your comments about your work but could not really understand the scope of your study. If you have 60 or so pages of findings, perhaps, you can break them down to themes. I am just now revising my dissertation for publication and it had both quantitative and qualitative data. I used thematic analysis. Perhaps, another coder should be able to assist you with this. With so many facets of Australia and your experiences of Malaysia, you should be able to draw on a rich mine of data for discussion. You may want to start by visualizing the flow of your discussion and writing a framework. I wish you well in your work.

    • Hi Guia,

      Thanks for dropping by and your suggestions. I am doing a policy advocay study in mandating mediation for family law disputes in Malaysia. I envy you for for being able to conduct your study using mixed methods. My brain freezes at the sight of numbers beyond plus and minus 🙂 I did use thematic analysis (well, I think so – I haven’t got the chance to update that section yet… he..he..he) The data is rich indeed, overwhelming at times. I would have loved to have another coder, but part of the transcripts are in Malay, so it get’s a bit complicated to have another person onboard. I am now trying to do my framework in OneNote 2010 program. I am suprised at how helpful the application is. I am going to be a advocate for the application in the future. All the best to you too.

  2. プラダ バッグ ナイロン I was recommended this web site by my
    cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know
    such detailed about my difficulty. You are wonderful!
    Thanks! プラダ バッグ ハワイ

  3. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for
    any high-quality articles or blog posts in this sort of space .
    Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this web site.
    Reading this info So i am satisfied to show that I’ve a
    very excellent uncanny feeling I came upon just what I needed.
    I so much without a doubt will make certain to don?t disregard this website and give it
    a look on a constant basis.

  4. I like the helpful information you supply in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and test once more here frequently.
    I am fairly sure I will be informed many new stuff right right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

