Catching Up on Australian Family Law

It’s getting a bit tricky to sit down and update on my blogging activities nowadays. Writing in whichever forms take time and self discipline. The thing is, I have a lot of catching up to do with my thesis writing. I have two more chapters to draft. One being the Australian context chapter. I stopped writing about in sometime in July.  Alhamdulillah, after looking through the family law legislation again this week, I finally understood how the whole family law in Australia work. It’s complicated, but now it makes better sense than when I was looking at it in July.

One of the thing that confused me was the legislation amendments. In Malaysia, amendments to the law usually do not have separate or totally different names, or a stature of their own. They principal act remained as the quoted act, after any amendments are made. In Australia, every major amendments to the Family Law Act carried different names. At first, I thought they are totally new, different acts altogether. But that’s not the case. They are only amendments to the principal act. The principal act stays in place, except for the recent changes made through the various amendments and have to be read together with the principal act. So it’s basically more or less the same as legislation’s amendments in Malaysia.

I hope with that cleared, I will be able to finalize the chapter pretty soon. Melbourne’s weather is getting pretty crazy by the years…can’t wait to perspire back home 🙂

This entry was posted in Log, My Expression, PhD. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

